Adlington Town Council

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Adlington Town Council held on Monday 9th May 2016 In the Community Centre, Railway Road Adlington commencing at 7:30pm

Members Present

Councillors: J Banks, A Evans, C Hart, S Higgins, B Lee, J Lowe, A Robinson, T Summers, P

Walkden, A Wilson

In Attendance: L Crouch (Clerk) and 17 members of the public.

1 Election of Town Mayor

It was resolved that Cllr A Evans would be Mayor of the Town Council for the year 2016/17. Cllr Evans completed her declaration of acceptance of office. She thanked the retiring Mayor Cllr Higgins for his guidance and support during her time as his Deputy Mayor.

2 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs F & J Molyneaux who were attending another meeting and accepted by the Council.

3 Declarations of Interest

Cllr Evans declared an interest in item 6.

4 Comments by the Retiring Mayor

Retiring Mayor Cllr Stephen Higgins thanked the Town Councillors and Clerk for all of their support and wished the new Mayor all the best for her year in office.

5 Election of the Deputy Mayor

Cllr J Banks was nominated for the role of Deputy Mayor. He accepted the nomination and this was agreed by the Council. Cllr Banks completed his declaration of acceptance of office.

Cllr Evans took no part in the discussion of item 6

6 Mayor's Allowance

It was resolved that the Mayor's allowance would be £750, the budget amount which was previously agreed by the Council as representing the necessary expenditure for the year in office.

7 Appointment of Working Groups and Membership

It was resolved that members of the following Working Groups will discuss in detail issues relating to the subject of the Group and bring proposals to the monthly Council meeting for approval:

Finance Working Group – Cllrs A Evans, S Higgins, C Hart, B Lee, J Lowe, J Molyneaux, A Wilson.

Planning Working Group - Cllrs C Hart, F Molyneaux, A Wilson, J Banks

Street Scene Working Group – Cllrs A Evans, S Higgins, J Lowe, A Robinson **Website & Communications Working Group** – Cllr A Evans, P Walkden, J Lowe, A Robinson. It was resolved to ask for the assistance offered by ex-councillors Dan Croft (website) and Jon Smethurst (newsletter) as required.

Parish Plan Working Group - Cllrs C Hart, S Higgins, B Lee, J Lowe, J Molyneaux, A Evans

8 Representatives on outside Bodies

Lancashire Association of Local Councils (Chorley Area) – Cllrs J Lowe, P Walkden Chorley Council Liaison – Cllr A Evans
Chorley Council Neighbourhood Area Group – Cllr J Banks
Adlington & District Community Association – Cllr A Evans
Adlington & District In Bloom Action Group – Cllr A Evans, Cllr J Lowe, Cllr S Higgins
Adlington Circular Walk – Cllr J Banks

9 Delegation of Powers to the Clerk

It was resolved to delegate powers to the Clerk in order to:

- Report minor maintenance issues to the relevant authority on the Town Council's behalf and to email Councillors to keep them informed of these
- Request extensions to planning consultation dates where these fall between meetings

10 Dates of Meetings 2016/17

The previously discussed list of meetings was circulated and approved.

11 General Power of Competence

It was resolved that the Council currently has eligibility to use the General Power of Competence (Localism Act 2011) as set out in the Parish Councils(General Power of Competence)(Prescribed Conditions)Order 2012

12 Items for Information None.

The Mayor closed the meeting at 8.10pm

Clerk to the Council: Linda Crouch

Tel: 07896 729 646

Email: clerk@adlingtontowncouncil.co.uk