Adlington Town Council Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Adlington Town Council Held on Monday 9th May 2022 at Adlington Library, Railway Road commencing at 7:30pm

Members Present

Councillors: A Robinson, A Rothwell, A Cross, B Speers, J Lowe, J Molyneaux, K O'Donnell, Kim Snape, N Buckley, P Walkden and S Clewlow.

In Attendance: C Bailey (Clerk). 12 members of the public attended the meeting as observers.

1. Election of Town Mayor

It was resolved that ClIr B Speers would be confirmed as the Mayor of the Town Council for the year 2022/23. ClIr Speers completed her declaration of acceptance of office. The Consort will be her husband, Mr John Speers.

2. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Cllr P Wilson.

3. Declarations of Interest

Cllr Speers declared an interest in item 6.

4. Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Adlington Town Council of 10 May 2021 were approved and signed.

5. Comments from the Retiring Town Mayor

Cllr Kevin O'Donnell said that as Town Mayor he had learnt a lot about the Village and the community. It's the people who give Adlington its character. Cllr O'Donnell said he was glad that the Town Council had been able to re-start its environmental activities and its Civic calendar. Corona virus had impacted on the number of fund-raising opportunities that could be held. He was pleased to announce that the Town Mayor's charity, Derian House, had benefitted by £400, which the raffle at the Carol Concert had helped to achieve. Cllr O'Donnell thanked fellow Councillors and the Clerk for their support during the year and Cllr Lowe for her advice on procedural matters.

5 Election of the Deputy Mayor

Following on from the April 2022 Town Council meeting, it was resolved that Cllr Nina Buckley would be appointed as the Deputy Mayor. Cllr Buckley thanked the Town Council and completed her declaration of acceptance of office.

The Town Mayor, Cllr Speers took no part in the discussion of item 6

6 Mayor's Allowance

It was resolved that the Mayor's allowance would be £850, the budget amount which had previously been agreed by the Council as representing the appropriate expenditure for the year in office. The payment will be authorised at the 16 May 2022 Town Council meeting.

7 To confirm the Council's eligibility for the General Power of Competence (Localism Act 2011) as set out in the Parish Councils (General Power of Competence) (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012

The Town Council's eligibility for the General Power of Competence was confirmed at the 'relevant annual meeting' in May 2019 following the election of Councillors to the Town Council. At that time due to both its electoral mandate of having more than two thirds of its members appointed by being declared elected and by also by the former Clerk being a CiLCA qualified. This power gives local councils' confidence in the legal capacity to act for their communities to work with others to provide cost-effective services and facilities in new ways to meet the needs of local communities. It was agreed at the meeting to put this matter on hold for further investigation as the current Clerk does not yet hold the relevant qualification and only six of the nine Councillors who were elected to office in May 2019 are now in post. It is understood that the Council's eligibility for the

General Power of Competence need only be confirmed at and is retained for up to four years until the next ordinary election. This would be until the May 2023 election following which a 'relevant annual meeting' will have to be held and the position re-assessed. Clarification of this matter will be reported to the Town Council's May monthly meeting.

8 Appointment of Working Groups and Membership

As the Town Mayor is already a member of the Finance Working Group, it was agreed the Deputy Mayor would attend to replace the retiring Town Mayor. It was agreed that membership of the Working Groups would be as follows:

Finance Working Group: The Town Mayor, the Deputy Mayor and Cllrs A Robinson, J Lowe and J Molyneaux; **Planning Working Group:** The membership of this Group will be agreed and it will be convened as required.

Street Scene Working Group: The Town Mayor and Cllrs A Robinson, J Lowe, and P Walkden;

Website & Communications Working Group: The Town Mayor, the Deputy Mayor and Cllrs A Robinson, Alison Rothwell, and P Walkden.

There was no discussion of the Terms of Reference of the Working Groups.

As agreed at the previous 2021 meeting the Parish Plan has not been reviewed since 2006, so the Parish Plan Working Group would be disbanded.

9 Representatives on outside Bodies

These were agreed as:

Chorley Council Liaison – The Town Mayor, Cllr B Speers

Chorley Council South East Neighbourhood Area Group – The Town Mayor, Cllr B Speers Adlington & District Community Association – The Town Mayor Cllr B Speers and Cllr P Walkden Adlington & District in Bloom Action Group – Cllr K O'Donnell, Cllr J Lowe and Cllr A Robinson Lancashire Flood Action Group – Cllr K O'Donnell

10 Delegation of Powers to the Clerk

It was resolved to delegate powers to the Clerk in order to:

- Report minor maintenance issues to the relevant authority on the Town Council's behalf and to email Councillors to keep them informed of these
- Request extensions to planning consultation dates where these fall between meetings

11 Dates of Meetings 2022/23

The previously circulated list of meetings was approved.

12 Items for Information

The Town Mayor invited all to attend her inauguration at Adlington Community Centre The meeting closed at 7.45pm

Clerk to the Council: Christine Bailey Tel: 07896 729 646 Email: clerk@adlingtontowncouncil.co.uk